TrishaR

By TrishaR

The Hanging Houses of Cuenca

I’m not sure I would like to live in it due to the sheer drop from the veranda. The rock formations and houses on them make for great pictures and stunning views. Great blue sky too.

It’s Sunday and also Mothering Sunday here in Spain. In the old town that means a distinct lack of anything to eat. The restaurants in the main square all seem to serve the same thing and same prices which are expensive and looking at the reviews they were dire. But they are shut anyway. Luckily I had read about the lack of shops of any description in the old town on line and we had bought some foodstuffs in the supermarket in the new town the day before - phew. I tried to find a fruit and veg shop yesterday too and it seems there is no such thing - again you need to go to the new bit in the bus.

I had a disturbed night sleep due to the flat upstairs noise. I usually try and book a top floor but slipped up this time. The flat itself is nice but I hate noise from upstairs .

We went for a hike after our breakfast up to a big viewpoint (extra). There was a zip slide over the valley gorge to the other side , a double one and people were enjoying doing it and also they had little parachutes behind them to slow them down.

It was time for lunch. But it was still the breakfast menu in restaurants near the walk so I had the Spanish tortilla which was delicious.

I tried to have a sleep back in the apartment but it didn’t work. I started packing the case and then we went out an evening walk. It was very quiet everywhere after the party atmosphere of Saturday.

Hopeful of a better night sleep. I am hopeless without a good sleep. In fact I have a Sleep obsession ….. it’s been said by ‘people’!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.