Grammy

By Grammy

Kousa

We had off and on rain showers again today. Hubby had a Knights’ commitment, assisting with the “living rosary,” at two Catholic schools in our neighboring county. He left very early and got home late afternoon. I ran out in the drizzle and planted the daisies my sister left me. I discovered the volunteer dogwood tree that is growing in my front garden is a Japanese dogwood (Kousa). I am delighted because I had bought one years ago with money my now deceased Godmother gave me. Most of that tree, see extra, unexpectedly died last year. I just wish the new tree wasn’t so close to the house. I will have to keep it pruned. Next, I planted the yellow squash seeds my sister included in my Christmas gifts. These are an upright variety created especially for small gardens. Cannot wait to see how they grow. Otherwise, it has been a Kindle and blip journal day. Leftovers for dinner so the evening is ours. My friend’s daughter (an only child) has asked me to be with her when they disconnect her mother from life support on Thursday morning. Of course I will be there for her; it will be a rough day for sure. Our faith in everlasting life will get us through. Hoping your day has been a bit less stressful. Thanks for stopping by. Stay safe. “To see a hillside white with dogwood bloom is to know a particular ecstasy of beauty, but to walk the gray Winter woods and find the buds which will resurrect that beauty in another May is to partake of continuity.” - Author: Hal Borland

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.