Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Htichcock Woods

Today I probably did my last hike of the spring as it was HOT.   I managed almost 4 miles but it the heat kicked my butt and I was really dragging when I got home.  I did make sure to drink water and I had an electrolyte drink to replenish but the older I get the less my body can tolerate hot.  

I really hate to see spring leave.

Anyway,  the hike was with four of the ladies from the new hiking group I joined.  They try to hike somewhere every Tuesday.  If they go up to the mountains maybe I can try that since it might not be so hot there.   

Hitchcock Woods is mostly an equestrian trail riding area but hikers are allowed to walk as long as they do not bring dogs.   We walked along the Kalmia Trail where we were surrounded by mountain laurel.   Very unusual to see so much blooming at this area of the state.  We also so many ferns under trees where they had performed prescribed burns.  So good for the forest floor!    We found out that the area was formerly where the ocean stopped in the way back long ago era.   We did have some elevation changes as we found ourselves on top of a sandstone cliff edge.  Really interesting as it was only a very small area stuck in the middle between the pine forest and the hardwood forest area.   The colors of the different layers of earth really showed up here.  

A good morning with these ladies as they did not mind me stopping with the camera.   Only a few wildflowers blooming but they were new to me...goats rue, soft greeneye and spurge nettle.  Always something new in the forest.     See them in the extras.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.