Today ..............

 .............. (Tuesday, as I'm posting this at silly-o-clock on Wednesday morning) I found a tiny pipistrelle bat on the pavement outside the house.
At first I thought it was a dead vole or something the cats (next door) had tormented - but, on going to pick it up, it moved (which made me jump) and looking closer and gently touching it saw it was a bat.

More batty larger .........

Carefully picked it up and it thanked me by staying perfectly still except for digging its tiny sharp toes, thumb and fingers into my hand.  
Carried it through the house to the back garden picking up my camera on the way past.   
Once outside I tried to get a photo ...... ha!  
Picture this:  
Boris the Bat on my right hand, the big camera looped around my neck.
Boris is now feeling the warmth of my skin and not as terrified so is starting to move a little. 
I'm trying to manoeuver the camera and take a photo with my left hand (the "shoot" button is on the right) and get Boris in focus - not a chance in h*ll.  
You can see the terrible result in the inset photo - still, you get the idea of how tiny he was on my hand.

Now, where to put him?   I climbed on the bench and placed him gently on the tree trunk (main photo) and, being a good BlipperBear, instantly took a couple of shots ...... he then started to climb and, boy, that bat could have won a 10 metre sprint - he was off like a rocket up the tree and out of sight.

Hopefully he stayed there until dusk as we had a massive downpour and equally massive lightening display with attendant thunder  -  I suspect he would have died/drowned on the pavement.  

Live to fly another day, Boris.

An exciting day in a mundane week.   :o))

~ Anni ~


This is Tuesday uploaded on Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.