Rainy Day in Bellingham

Today was Bellingham's world famous Ski to Sea race. It is a relay race with seven people on each team. It starts at Mount Baker with cross country and downhill skiing and ends in Fairhaven with kayaking. We have lived here 23 years and have never attended or gone to see this event. Not sure why except that neither of us is very sport oriented. Today was no exception. Instead I spent the day packing. We leave Wednesday for Boston and New York and today was the designated packing day. Tomorrow Blipbear is coming to our house and Tuesday we have hair appointments. So today was packing day.

When I got up I saw that it was raining quite thoroughly. I did think of all those racers out there getting wet. I chose to walk around taking rain on plant photos under one of our two large umbrellas. This fern with raindrops was one of the photos I took. Press L for the larger view.

Then it was time to pack. I started with my suitcase and did most of that by mid afternoon. Then it was Arvin's turn. I now do his packing for him as I am the organized one. I realized that he needed one thing he didn't have, a decent pair of hiking shoes for a warm climate. So we zipped off to REI to buy him some Keen sandals. Lucky us. They were having a sale and we got him some really nice hiking sandals at 30% off. Nice surprise.

We came home and I finished Arvin's packing. All we have left are some odds and ends and our photographic and computer equipment and we will be finished.

Steve and Carol came over for dinner and a game of Mexican Train. They headed home and Arvin went to work on the dishes giving me time to work on my blip. It was a good day even with all the rain. I did feel a bit sorry for all the Ski to Sea racers though.

I think I really should have put this photo as my blip yesterday... but I won't change it now. It isn't as technically good but it is very warm and playful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.