Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Abstract bluebells

I went back to the bluebell woods near our house today, the bluebells this year are so prolific it is wonderful to see so many. Again I struggle trying to find a composition that I like, I think unless you have a 'neat' woods with either mist or early morning light filtering through the leaves, it ends up looking messy. So I resorted to a more abstract type of shot using ICM (Intentional Camera Movement).

The woods were so muddy, I was slipping in the mud and Xena was filthy when we got home. I quickly washed her and then headed off to my weekly golf clinic, and we had a wonderful time outdoors practicing in the sand bunker and on the chipping greens. It was so warm in the sunshine, so lovely that after all the months of lessons through the winter we are now having warmer weather, and the ladies have swapped their woolly hats for sunglasses!

Last night the opening of the exhibition went well - six people from my camera club were also there, as they are also part of this photography group. There was some skilled work on display and some not so great! I noted that some members were selling their images for £400 a print! Tonight I have a zoom talk with this photography group by Tom Way, the well known wildlife photographer. 

The Nikon world has been abuzz today with the launch of a new camera, the Z8. For the first time Nikon were very active marketing the release of this camera, something like Apple does for its products - there were teaser videos with 'easter eggs' dropped in for hints as to what the specs will be, then there was a count down, and well today was the day and finally at about 3pm it was announced! Some retailers were taking pre-orders without customers knowing exactly what the specs were! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.