Lala's Journal

By Lala

48 Years …….

……since we tied the knot. I was lucky enough to be able to work from home today. I didn’t know how I’d be, and despite an invitation from a friend in the MW group, I decided to do this day alone. I don’t think these days when they arrive are actually as bad as the week that precedes it, I’ve just been mostly flat. I did get an idea in my head to use one of the wedding photos for my blip, but have no idea where I’ve put the album. I searched all the likely places to no avail, but made a conscious decision not to get upset, it will turn up, probably when I’m not expecting it.

I have to record the oddest thing that spooked me until I once again calmed myself and ‘just dealt with it’. I was working away on the pc at the dining table when I heard a dreadful clattering and crashing sound from the bedroom. It didn’t stop, so I flew in expecting to find a collapsed ‘something’, and was amazed to find a full grown wood pigeon, flying first at the window, crashing into that and then flying the other way into the mirrored wardrobes, and crashing into them! The only door/ window open was the kitchen, so it must have flown all the way through, turned left and left again to arrive at the bedroom. I think Dog was just stunned! He normally loves to chase a bird! I locked him in the dining room and found myself actually physically talking to myself asking me what to do! Those birds are pretty big close up, and although I’d opened the window, it’s not that big and he clearly didn’t register the open section vs closed! In the end I cornered him on the window sill and caught him easily in a towel. Out the window, he flew to the shed roof and sat a while before flying off and the only damage was one of mum’s crystal ornaments. 

Today, of all days I also got the news that another member of our family is facing a fight with breast cancer. It appears to have been caught early, and I am certain she will get through, but it’s still a fight that no one wants to have. M, we are fighting with you, in spirit if not in person, and I send you love and hugs, and all the other claptrap stuff people say! 

Photo from B’s bench this morning.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.