JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Tiny redcurrants

I don't have any tiny people, and the small needlefelt cats didn't want to get their paws wet in the damp vegetation, so here are the tiny redcurrants forming on my one redcurrant bush. It always produces a good crop, which, so long as I net it before the birds find them, meets our need for redcurrants. They are high in pectin, which makes them useful companions to harder to set fruit such as rhubarb in jams or jellies, and they bring tart flavour and colour to summer pudding. I sometimes make tarts, spreading them on thinly rolled puff pastry and sprinkling them with more sugar than I really want to eat. For now, they are green, firm and promising. 

It was a reasonably productive Tuesday, with some sunny intervals between the downpours. I sowed some seeds, did some household jobs, and finished reading my Virginia Woolf book, A Room of One's Own. I've enjoyed reading it rather more than I did forty years ago. I'd like to back through it and make some notes, but there are so many more novels, histories and books of art and poetry still to read...

I've just belatedly posted Monday's #BCSerenity photo if you have a minute to flick back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.