Here and Now

By Mole

Unfurling

I suspect this is a hickory seedling, or some type of related tree, because ours looks like this when it's opening.  Spot the dandelion seed caught on the backside.

I walked a bridle trail I haven't been on for a long time.  It's like an old friend. The first thing I noticed is that I couldn't find the tree with all the heart-shaped stones. I visited where there used to be a beaver dam that fascinated Mr Mole.  I missed having his company for this hike as we've always done it together, with one part being somewhat risky - very steep with lots of tree roots right above a long drop down to the river.  He always makes sure I didn't fall.  I skipped that part by starting at the opposite end at Wiley Creek. The forest was full of wildflowers and the weather was just perfect:  68 degrees and sunny with a slight breeze.  A nice ending after a dental cleaning.  My hygenist spoiled me with a blanket and pillow today!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.