Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

THESE ARE WHAT I NEED!

Mr. HCB was out working in the garden far longer than I was yesterday, so I knew when he came downstairs this morning in his “decent” clothes that he wasn’t intending doing much out there today!

We usually have a little “pow-wow” whilst I am making my first cup of coffee to discuss our plans for the day, so when I asked him his plans, he said “Nothing much”!  He then said that he thought we might go to “Three Trees” for breakfast, so I hastily put some chicken into the slow cooker and was ready to go!

We had a little trouble with our order, the worst of which was my butter melting all over the plate and making my toast soggy, but Vanessa, one of the waitresses was very good and soon sorted things out.  We enjoyed our time together and then had a lovely conversation with a lady at the next table with her 3 year old daughter, Rosie, who was delightful and who had beautiful manners.  I told her Mum that she had taught her well, and I could see that pleased her.  In these days of “anything goes” it’s good to see a child with good manners and Rosie was a real credit to her Mum and Aunty, who was there with them.  She was very energetic and when I remarked on her beautiful sparkly and glittery shoes, she looked at me with her big round eyes and said “Thank you” without even being prompted by Mum.

So I have decided that this is what I need in my life - some sparkly and glittery shoes and then perhaps I will have as much energy as Rosie - watch this space!  Rosie’s Mum said they were in the café every Thursday, so I’m sure we will see them again, and if I get my sparkly shoes, then hopefully I will be able to run up and down as fast as Rosie!  Wouldn’t it be wonderful if the shoes we wore did that for us?  

As we left, we chatted to a lovely couple who were staying in their campervan in Savernake Forest, near Marlborough and who said that the round “walk” for them was about 16 miles - I’m not sure that sparkly shoes would enable me to walk that far, but it’s worth a try, don’t you think?

On the way home, we stopped to admire the oil-see rape fields, and with the sun shining on them, they were looking wonderful see my extra.  It was good to be out and made me realise how much I miss walking with Mr. HCB but I will get there - eventually.

I must dash because I have just booked an appointment to go and have my hair cut - it’s getting on my nerves and I feel a bit like this long word - another mania, so guess that might make me a maniac!!

TRICHOTILLOMANIA 
An abnormal desire to pull out one's hair
Trichotillomania comes from combining roots from New Latin (trich, meaning “hair,” and mania) and Greek (tillein, meaning “to pull, pluck”). The word appears to have come about at the suggestion of a French doctor at the end of the 19th century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.