AN HOUR IN THE GARDEN IS ENOUGH!

Mr. HCB and I had a chat last night because I said I would like to go out and do some gardening today, although at times, because of my creaky knees, it can be quite painful.  I’m not looking for sympathy, but just stating a fact, and those who suffer with the same condition, will know what I mean!

He had obviously been thinking about this, so suggested that I weed the semi-circular bed just outside our conservatory window, which also looks out onto the raised beds in our garden.  He thought it would be good for me because this particular bed is raised from the path and therefore, I wouldn’t need to bend over too far and it worked very well. 

I decided to take “before” and “after” shots so here they are, in a collage - in fact, they could almost be a Wide Wednesday Blip and joy of joys, I am on theme, because it is “Any Subject”!

Again, these could be construed as boring shots, but at least it documents part of our garden and it was good to be able to do this and I know it will help Mr. HCB because it will mean he can do other work in the garden which I’m not able to do.  I just left two carnation plants and what we think is a couple of Cosmos and then Mr. HCB transplanted some Snapdragons from one of his raised beds. 

I went on to take all the little weeds out of the gravel, which did involve bending over, but now it’s done, it looks good.  When we sat having our cup of coffee, it started to rain, but thankfully didn’t come to much and the sun is now shining again.

However, I am now indoors resting because I have done enough - my legs, back and shoulders are telling me I have anyway and I’m pleased with the result of my efforts. 

I managed to find a word, which is not particularly about weeds, but the definition does seem to fit and it is easy to pronounce!

POLYPHILOPROGENITIVE - 20 letters - adjective
Meaning extremely prolific - from Greek poly- many + philo- loving + Latin progenitive - producing offspring. Earliest documented use: 1919, in a poem by T.S. Eliot.

Here is a link to the poem, but quite frankly, I can’t understand a word of it - however, it does mention "hams" at the end and the footnote says: "Hams, found at the back of the knee, are crooked..."  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.