There Must Be Magic

By GirlWithACamera

Trillium in Moshannon State Forest

It was a fine day in May, and my husband and I went for a rather long hike in Moshannon State Forest. We wandered over hill and dale, and for five to six miles, we walked along streams, through woods, across rocks, and up and down the trails. It was a workout, for sure.

We ended up at two springs deep in the heart of the forest, bubbling up cold, clear water, and we drank deeply, then sat and enjoyed the woods time, as assorted birds (including a red-breasted grosbeak male and his less fancy mate) flew over our heads, checking us out.

Later, my husband said, "What if WE could FLY along together over the woods, instead of walking through them? Wouldn't THAT be fun?" And I suddenly had a vision of the two of us as birds, flying through and over these woods together, stopping to drink and relax by the springs. What views we would see! How free and unfettered we would be!

There were also flowers a-plenty. We did not see them on our way into the woods, but by the end of the afternoon, the trillium flowers along the stream were all open, and they surely were lovely indeed. I did not see any red ones. All of them were like this, white with a pretty pink center. Just like this! Growing wild along the stream!

My soundtrack song is from the album, Trio, by Dolly, Linda, and Emmylou. Here is a favorite song from an excellent album for this image: Wildflowers.

P.S. Thank you for your kind remarks on the story from yesterday. I say that I have not learned a thing. But I realize that I have! When it is time to be happy, be happy! When it is time to be sad, be sad. It's life! Live it to the hilt! Laugh! Cry! Celebrate! Mourn! Love! Live! Thank you for coming to my Ted Talk! <3

Also, thank you to Kimb who informed me that this is a painted trillium Trillium undulatum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.