SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Meetings

Being Thursday, today was dominated by meetings. The first was at home, with И, discussing her exciting news. I then spent too long working because L arrived just as I should have been leaving to go to Edinburgh for a meeting with PhD student J. Fortunately they are cool, and called in after I'd had lunch.

I then postponed a meeting with PhD student M so I could attend the School Forum, where I learned about some sensible teaching and management changes. However, when the aim of the School's teaching mission was presented as "preparing our students for any mathematics postgraduate studies programme", I couldn't shut up. Even though it was written by the Head of School, I castigated it for its narrow horizons. Although I'm too old to care or be listened to, in my defence, he'd asked for a reaction, and a senior member of the School soon backed up my view.

I couldn't leave immediately, so I was late for my postponed meeting with M. He's cool, too, and we spent more time talking about his bee keeping than work.

Finally I dipped into the post-Forum drinks and nibbles, before having a long chat with an older member of staff about how things have changed, and our respective families.

When I left I discovered quite how beautiful the weather was - at least for this evening

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.