Roofer

I was marking this morning - yes, marking! - when I decided to investigate the noises that were definitely coming from above rather than through the wall from next door. I squeezed out onto our flat roof to find two guys working on the roof. Next door had got them in, but they were having a look at all the roofs of the building that they could see. They let me know that they'd put back a few of our slates, and then they showed me where they had found a problem. It's right on the boundary between us and next door and, to cut a long story short, they'll be fixing a problem on our side, as well as doing a repair that will benefit us more than our neighbours. I had a quick chat with the neighbour, and offered to pay a generous share of the costs, and that was it! There are fewer and fewer people prepared to work on roofs without scaffolding - and that would have probably tripled the cost of the work - so I was grateful to our neighbour for getting them in.

Eventually I got back to my marking (19/25 done!) although I found a few distractions before I took a break to walk Django in a beautiful early evening light.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.