secret garden

By freespiral

Coats of multi-colours

A trip into Skibbereen and a small spot of documentation trespass on my way home. I have long been wanting to have a peek inside this little house, now much overgrown and derelict but with a certain air about it. It's a typical early 20C homestead but quite posh in that it has an upstairs too i didn't go up, too rickety The door  was open and I slipped in. What always amazes me are the rich vibrant colours in the interiors  - reds, turquoise, and bannisters painted pea green and the palest of pinks. The kitchen still had its handsome dresser and an enormous open fireplace. The other downstairs room was a bit uncomfortable - a cast iron bed, a very rusty plug-in radiator and a loo. I didn't linger but I did admire the old fireplace and look, I believe those are green shield stamps in the grate, who remembers those! Once a warm, colourful home, maybe it may yet have another life. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.