CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Male Great Spotted Woodpecker on the old rhus tree

I looked out of the window when I went to stretch my legs after being at my desktop computer for too long. I wanted a drink so I went downstairs and as I could still see the woodpecker I changed the lens on my camera and silently focused.

I was in the dining room behind the patio doors, which are double-glazed, but I couldn't risk the sound of the sliding doors frightening the woody away.

It was raining hard and after a few minutes of stuffing its beak with sunflower seeds, it flew a few yards to the old dead thus tree trunk which I keep as a good perch for the birds. I'm pleased that I caught the underside of its belly which is surprisingly mottled red, and today its feathers were particularly wet and bedraggled even under there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.