CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Pied wagtail on Parkend swingbridge

I celebrated receiving my new spectacles by doing lots of errands in varied parts of our local area. I tried watching swallows flying over the River Severn but they were staying high in the sky.

I drove back via Parkend swing bridge, one of the manned road crossings over the Gloucester to Sharpness canal and stood by the bridge for some time enjoying the scene. A group of scullers from Wycliffe school, which has a rowing clubhouse at nearby Saul Junction, came north accompanied by two trainers cycling along the towpath using loud hailers. I've added an extra of one of the scullers outlined by reflected light from moored canal boats.

Just as I was about to leave a pied wagtail alighted on the guardrail of the bridge as if posing for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.