CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The last wood framed greenhouse at the farm shop

I went to buy some vegetables and eggs from the Stancombe Beech farm shop, near Bisley, and met Ashley, one of the farmers, with his brother and sister. Their father, Jim, died two years ago but they have continued growing their business, combining farm produce with sales of young plants to gardeners, which their father encouraged. Since then they have increased the number of greenhouses and a much larger range of both flowering plants, herbs and young vegetable seedlings, and their wonderful range of local honeys.

When Jim ran the business he just had this wooden framed greenhouse behind the farm shop where he grew the plants, mostly from seed. When I first met him I would take pictures here of him at work, and today I asked Ashley if I could take some pictures around the greenhouses. Now they have five larger plastic covered green houses and many more plants growing. I’ve added a picture of one of the new ones as an ‘Extra’ below.

We discussed the idea of taking a group picture of all their staff, which I’m now hoping to arrange one day soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.