JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Tern colony

Having spotted a gap in the usual busy schedule, I've taken a couple of days off to visit Anglesey (a favourite place, since it's where we usually had summer holidays when Jack and Ruth were growing up).
Just me; Richard is in London on Folklore Society business.
This is the tern colony at Cemlyn nature reserve. This shot doesn't capture the details of the individual birds well, but I like the sense of them as a flock here, turning and whirling above the grassy island where their nests are.
I read online tonight that the UK is to send cruise missiles to Ukraine. I desperately want Ukraine to win, and I do think that the UK, the EU and the US (plus other allies) have no choice but to support Ukraine in resisting the Russian invasion. There's the rub: faced with a bully, there's no choice. Often I wonder whether we'll be drawn into full-scale war with Putin, step by slow step.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.