Pictorial blethers

By blethers

To the tip!

Today began grey and dampish - I had a mac on when I went out to the shop early - but gradually cleared to a positively warm afternoon which brought the car thermometer to 19ºc in the late afternoon. The early shop was rather startlingly expensive - the checkout lady was as surprised as I was that a trolley-load with no booze and no expensive meat should come to so much. I know I bought an ironing board cover, but that was only a fiver ...

That trauma over, I took ages over breakfast and almost spent the whole morning just pottering, but managed to get out before lunch to return some pills that had talc in them and get replacements from the pharmacist. (I think I've mentioned that I've found I'm allergic to talc - it gives me asthma symptoms.) I had a brisk lunch and then sallied forth to our front garden, where our gardener hadn't done what I wanted (get rid of a great deal of ivy from the ground under a line of shrubs). Just as we were loading the car with four great bags of bits, the gardener turned up to cut the grass and in the end finished off the job with a very efficient machine that could both sook and blaw. Meanwhile we took the load off to the tip, aka Bogleha Recycling Centre, where I took the two photos in today's collage just because our tip is rather appealing even if the garden rubbish skip was so full that we had trouble heaving our bags onto the top. Apparently in the morning the men there use giant rakes to flatten it all down.

The last act in this rather physical day was to drive up to the Rectory to collect a step for our garden shed that D our Rector had made for us. In the event it was too heavy for us feeble aged and he had to come down after he'd finished working and lift it (single-handed) out of the car and down into the garden. It's horrid the difference in faiblesse that twenty or so years make ... Anyway, the step is perfect and will save one or other of us from falling on our nose in the mud as we exit the shed. (The last, improvised, step disintegrated in the wet and became a hazard in itself.)

Now I'm beginning to ache just about everywhere. Some NSAIDs and off to bed, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.