Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Ignoring limbo ...

Some readers here may recall the last time I tried to go on holiday: the flights were cancelled for three days because of storms and I eventually gave up altogether and got my money back. But before that I talked about the sense of limbo when you're about to go somewhere - or, perhaps more accurately, when I'm about to go somewhere - and I'm aware of it encroaching again right now. However, I spent some effort today on trying to ignore it, and that's where this blip photo came from.

The morning was a bit changeable, and I took the chance to take a parcel to the Post Office to hand over - an expensive pair of trousers from Rohan that I'd hoped would be resemble some that I got a few years ago and love. Sadly, both material and - especially - cut were different and they looked nothing like what I needed. I loathe trousers that have room for another person in the seat and thigh area! 

After lunch I persuaded Himself that he should see Benmore Gardens right now - they were so lovely yesterday, and everything changes so quickly in a week or so, especially if there is rain and wind - and wind is going to be a feature of the next couple of days. We were lucky - we saw a small deer on the slope just above us, feeding quite calmly at us and only looking up at the very gentle noise made by the phone camera (extra photo). Later there was a red squirrel scampering up a tree, stopping to look round the trunk at us, and the birdsong was amazing. My main photo is of the lush surroundings of the ornamental pond, with the reflections adding to the overall effect.

I realise there is much I have forgotten about travelling abroad in the two and a half years since our last trip, including the sharing of downloaded boarding passes with Himself. It doesn't help that we both treated ourselves to new phones instead of the first lockdown cancelled holiday ...

But I tried to put all this out of mind and attended online Compline instead. This began early on in the first lockdown, and has remained a valued addition to our routine as well as a link with people in our congregation who are no longer able to attend church in person. And I have always loved Compline and its ability to banish the stresses of whatever life is doing ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.