Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

My Train of Thoughts...

Our planned visit to bro's new house is postponed. Bro not too well.

So Plan B swung into action. I'd spotted on another blip about the Napier Degree Show, and so I thought I'd pop along there for a look. I enjoyed it more than the Dundee Show, not because it was better, but because I like the disciplines more - advertising, photography, commercial design, creative crazy stuff.

It was amazing, and it took me hours to get round. Mainly because I was the only member of the public there, and in each room was one of the artists, so I took my time and studied each exhibit, not knowing which one this person had done. In one room I did ask, and Rory explained his whole project (gamekeepers' roles in managing Scotland's wild spaces).

In another room there was a shower cubicle and a notice saying, 'POOL THIS WAY'. I could see there were white tiles on the walls and floor. The young woman in charge of this room told me to go in, there was a surprise. I asked if the surprise involved water, as I had my camera with me, and she assured me I wouldn't get wet.

I stepped in and pulled the shower curtains. The tiles in front of me began to fill up with (a movie of) water, up and over my head, with bubbling sounds. Quite disconcerting. Then it went back down again. 'In over your head?' then the Samaritans phone number was shown. Very clever.

This one of the train crash was incredible. Reminiscent of the mystery artist who kept putting little paper sculptures around Edinburgh libraries a couple of years ago. Wonder if it was this person?

Rang my camera people and asked why it hadn't been sent yet, as it was now the 14 days they estimated. 'Oh, no, madam. 14 working days!' Bah humbug!

I'm off to watch Question Time. I did actually put it on to watch on iPlayer yesterday, and woke up when it had long finished. I looked around and there was JR, snoozing on the sofa too. A couple of old biddies indeed!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.