Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Tinkling bells...

I closed my eyes for a couple of minutes in bed this morning, listening to the news, and suddenly it was an hour later. I closed them again for a couple of minutes and it was another hour later! I am so tired these days. Going for another blood test tomorrow.

When I did manage to rouse myself, I popped down to the duck pond, having had a tip-off that five cygnets were there - though one was hiding in this pic. (Thanks pleach). And so they were! Inevitably, being fed white bread by a well meaning human family.

Mr Swan was hissing a few times, but the cygnets were pretty laid back, pootling around and then having prolonged cleaning sessions, then sudden snoozes. Sooo cute to watch. Mum and Dad were showing them how to find proper food, by ducking down into the water and feeding them bits of grassy stuff. They were really paying attention, but it'll be a while before their wee necks can reach the bottom.

Popped in to see Uncle A and do some ironing. He's quite subdued and seems resigned to his fate of further dealings with the NHS.

Alarm bells have been tinkling slightly over the non-showing of the camera, although it is still within their stated time frame. I have rung a couple of times, and it's always 'pending dispatch' and there's 'a backlog'.

I rang again this morning, and gave my order number, to which the girl replied, 'We have no record of such a transaction.'

Alarm bells positively jangling!!

But I had read out the number wrongly. Yes. It was there, but oh - it seems the camera hasn't been sent yet because it is 'damaged'. Damaged?? When?? While it has been 'pending dispatch' all last week?

Right. Enough. I cancelled the order. I have used this lot before, with no problems, so I'm very disappointed. I'm hoping the refund goes through without any hassle.

I will re-evaluate whether I really need a new camera. As a mere hobby, I'm not sure I can justify it. Although funnily enough I did manage to justify it to myself a couple of weeks ago...

Perhaps a nice holiday somewhere warm at Christmas instead... Hmmm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.