Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Porty Promenade (without a dog...)

I took the opportunity to get an early morning lift to Portobello Beach. A lovely still, warm day, not too hot, but promising to be, even on the beach. The tide was in, the water was sparkling, people were walking their dogs and a couple of brave souls were swimming. The man was whizzing up and down on his tractor, smoothing the sand - what a good job that would be!

Of course, the usual - litter everywhere, despite the many bins. Tried not to let that sight ruin my walk along the promenade. A perfect place for walking the dog (Henry!). Everyone says hello at the beach, or perhaps it's just on nice days. Kids slowly (very slowly) making their way to school, old folk sitting out on the benches. It must be lovely to live in one of those beachfront houses - on days like this, of course.

I got along to this bit of the beach, which is where I had my last school trip with my last ever class, almost a year ago. We had a brilliant day - the tide was out for much of it, so lots of sandcastles were built and children buried (but not their heads, of course). This is another stitch up. And tweaking the colours a bit...

Back into town and a wee wander round the Gardens. Beautiful greens and lots of shade and seating, with views of the Old Town in between. New carpets of bright green grass. The Cooncil do well with the parks, really. Except for the fountain.

Then guess what... yes, I popped into My Club My Lounge. I don't know if they've noticed how often I'm there, but I did see a man there I'd seen before. I had a coffee, wee muffin, a coke, read the papers, and browsed blipfoto for an hour or so. I can go out for the day with two cards - my bus pass and My Lounge card, and not need any money - how great is that? Of course, as they don't provide Magnum Classics at My Lounge (there was a wee suggestion card, but I didn't say that) I do need some small change.

I came back home to the exciting news that our dear friends from Canada are coming to Edinburgh at the end of the week, on a tour of the Scottish Islands. I do hope they get the gorgeous weather we had there last week. I think it's been a spur of the moment thing. These are people who were one of our first house swappers, and we've kept in touch. That visit to Canada is getting nearer!

I have a few indoor chores to do that can't be put off any longer. And I will soon have to start planning and making the house ready for the Big Trip to Oz. Including making a list of all the vital items, so as not to forget anything - thank you, Mrs CBLinks. Or I might just have a wee snooze...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.