Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stuck on the sofa. Twice.

The heat wave has come to an end. Cooler this morning walking through the Meadows. Counted five people and two trucks cleaning up the rubbish from Monday evening. Imagine the resources needed for a weekend! I did blip them, but it's too depressing to use.

Today I got stuck, like a cast sheep, not once, but twice on the sofa. Getting up from a semi-recumbent position on a low-slung sofa is almost impossible at the best of times, but with a weighty toddler on top, it was not a pretty sight. I couldn't do my usual trick of rolling over and sliding to the floor on my knees, because I may have broken a bone (on the toddler!) or worse, suffocated him! If I slid forwards on to the floor, it would be impossible to get up using one arm. It was preferable not wake him, and mandatory that I didn't drop him! Also, I couldn't do too much grunting and groaning, lest he woke up, terrified. It's a blur how I did it in the end, but I do have a new twinge in my back.

And so what happened this afternoon again? He wasn't settled, so I took him out of bed again, and as soon as we half lay on the sofa to read a story, he fell asleep. I didn't want to waken him, and didn't want to develop another twinge in another part of my ailing anatomy, so I pulled cushions round us as best I could, laid my head back, and we both had a snooze for an hour till mum came home.

He's at a delightful stage, really gabbling away, and knows what things he's not to touch, though he will touch them and look round with a wee grin to see my reaction. I love how he will examine things very very closely for ages. And then chuck them aside. Same with his food. We played hide and seek round the kitchen island for ages. He didn't seem to tire of it as quickly as I did.

Went to the library. It wasn't a sing-a-long day, but obviously lots of folk didn't know. Anyway, it's nice just to let them wander and mingle and try to grab play with others' toys. It's quite fascinating to see how they interact with other toddlers and adults. It's like life. It must be a bit like when they first go off on their own to school, or leave home to live in a flat with friends (says she, who's never had kids). I followed him around to save him from having his toy pinched, or being pushed over, or indeed to stop him grabbing some other kid's biscuit.

So my blip today is wee Leo, showing four teeth. Although still teething and with unsettled sleep, he was in good fettle all day, and he's easily amused. Delightful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.