Jostijn

By Jostijn

Making music with my modular synth

I finally had time to make music at home again (I've put it on YouTube: here. I had made some patches with 5/4 time signature and made variations on them, starting with the fantastic Lyra 8 and later more rhythmically with all kinds of other sounds. And because this is a recording with my phone, at one point you can hear the hoover turn on in another room.

The music I make is not ordinary, nor is it meant to be. I make what I myself think sounds nice, what comes to mind at the time.  Sometimes it's techniques I want to try out, when I have read through the manual of a certain module again. But mostly they are improvisations around a certain theme.

Later that day I had a drum rehearsal with Close Act, we went through the music again and it went really well. Also managed to go through some themes, which we play during shows on stilts. Was very refreshing. Although I have not been able to walk on stilts due to my hip.

PS: This is a picture of an earlier version of the setup. So cute and small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.