Fluffy bundle

So good to come home to this contented fluffy bundle after what can only be described as a harrowing day.
It started badly with fog and I thought I may have to cancel my trip to Skeeby to take MIL to see FIL. Luckily the fog was only up here. As soon as I drove down through the villages it was clear although misty and murky all around on the hills in the distance.
The drive over was good, very little traffic and I arrived in time to have a snack and a cuppa before we set off to visit FIL who is currently being cared for in a nursing home in Bedale. Although I'd not driven there before it was straightforward thank goodness, it was unfortunately all downhill from there.
FIL was quite poorly, he was continually bring up 'stuff' from his lungs all the three hours we were there. It was very distressing to watch especially for MIL. While we were there was a medical zoom call to access what was happening and decide what should follow. MIL broke down when we left the room so distressed at watching him, not wanting to watch anymore but not wanting to leave him either.
We had another bite to eat when we got back and I insisted MIL made the call to her daughter while I was still there as I knew it would be difficult for her to relate the afternoon to her. She asked me to take over the call after a couple of minutes as she was finding the conversation so distressing. While  I was talking she suddenly cried out with excruciating pain in her back. I had to end the call and help her to the bedroom to lie down. She was in agony and crying out with the pain. I tried 111 and had to wait an age in a queue which I finally got to the top of! After a mountain of questions they said they would summon paramedics but if she got worse to ring 999. She did indeed with the pain spreading around from her back to under her ribs so after 5 minutes I made the call. They were there in less than 10 minutes with all manner of machines, monitoring and taking readings and providing pain relief through an oral breathing tube. There was talk of heart failure. They took her off to Darlington hospital. I can only assume the distress of the day suddenly took over, but I've never seen anyone go from perfectly ok with absolutely no pain to how she was in less than a couple of minutes. I cleared up, emptied the fridge etc, secured the house and drove home.
Calls to the hospital and the nursing home will be made tomorrow to find out what comes next! I'm not holding my breath for good news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.