Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Orange-tip

Today’s blip has to be this female orange-tip on lady’s smock or cuckoo flower. . Skittishly flying over the paths in the reserve, this brief landing allowed for only one shot before she was off again, but if last year’s abysmal personal butterfly tally is anything to go by, this may well be my one and only capture! They may be common, but it’s a thrill for me to see one. 

In other news, I have a second telephone consultation with my Tropical Medicine consultant. Following this week’s MDT meeting involving all the team - dermatology, gynaecology, gastroenterology, immunology, pathology, vasculitis - it seems there’s finally been a decision: in the absence of any other clear evidence, they’re going with a EPTB diagnosis - extra pulmonary tuberculosis - and I will start the six month drug treatment plan next month. I’m so relieved that finally there’s been a decision - though I’m trying hard not to feel a degree of anger and resentment that this wasn’t started a full year ago. 

The rest of this year may not be easy - though it’s just possible I might see improvements some weeks after starting treatment. I’ll be on  a cocktail of antibiotics with immunosuppressants thrown in for good luck, and obviously most plans for travel will be on hold - though she thinks our planned autumn break to Madeira can take place. But then next year, I’m so hoping I can start getting my life back - there’s just so much we want to do …. 

Meanwhile, there’s still a number of appointments and procedures to deal with - not least the issue of the catheter - but at least I feel I’m no longer in a medical limbo. 

Many thanks for the positive response to yesterday’s Iris treatment - you’re very kind! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.