Passage of time

My blip shows Bertie looking at the remains of an old settlement not too far from our house. The old walls are just visible as moss-covered heaps of stones. It is likely that this would have been inhabited in the 1800s, and perhaps earlier. We came across it while out for a walk this morning when I decided to take a different route which took us much longer than I thought it would. It’s strange, I used to know this area very well as I walked the paths within the Sitka spruce plantation with our previous dog. However, most of the trees were cut down about eight or nine years ago and now I find it much more difficult to locate landmarks such as this. Also the walking is much harder, unless I’m lucky to come across a deer track. Poor Bertie collected a whole load of ticks and I was picking them off him all day. I don’t think we will go this way again for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.