Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Chat

Skipping football for once, I spent a long afternoon on the moor in the sunshine. 

There were plenty of Green Hairstreak butterflies about, and occasional Peacock, Orange-tip, Speckled Wood, Holly Blue and Small Tortoiseshell. No sign of Small Heath or Wall yet, which are the next ones due to emerge.

I wandered through the territories of a couple of pairs of Stonechat, of which this male was confiding enough for pictures. I was hoping to hear the Cuckoo, which has been reported, but no sound today. Over at the far corner it seemed Lapwing and Curlew numbers were down on previous years. I had a very fleeting glimpse of one of the Barn Owls at Sconce.

I also checked out some of the small ponds for dragonflies, but it was all quiet. Still just the one damselfly last Saturday so fat this year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.