Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Mom, 1956

It's Mother's Day and, of course, thoughts turn to Mom.  Well, all the "moms" you have had in your life, nurturing women who guided you over your life.  For me, it was Mom, my grandma, my Auntie and my dear friend Dotty who passed away a few years ago at 95.  Mom was an artist too with needle and thread and so many other ways.  I recently discovered her high school yearbook.  In it, in the section that read, "Where will you be a year from now?", she wrote "going to art school in NYC to study fashion design".  That never happened, of course, it was 1939 and the second world war intervened and she married dad in 1941.  I attended art school 35 years later.  Sometimes dreams get passed on.  I am thankful she passed on her artistic talents as well.   Happy Heavenly Mother's Day, Mom.  Thank you for those gifts you gave me.

Gift#134: the ones my mother gave me so long ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.