LesTension

By LesTension

LOCOMOBILE

It's Motorhead Sunday and today's submission is a Locomobile.  I do not know the vintage but early 1900s for sure.  It was quite the expensive little car back in the day and was considered to be quite luxurious.
~
Extras:  You gear heads out there can look at this unusual arrangement of parts and come to your own conclusions about exactly what type of motor it is.  Speaking for myself, I have no clue, except that it has 8-cylinders arranged in two groups of 4...and I can only tell that by seeing the spark plugs.  And what are those apparent bleeder valves doing on the cylinder head?  I have no clue....perhaps some of you are more observant than I.
~
It's interesting to look at and to conjure....but, I confess, I know precious little about this expensive beast. In fact, this is the first I've ever heard of it and the first I ever saw.  Alas....there's Wiki:  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Locomobile_Company_of_America
See what you can learn.  And check out that oil can that has to be carried along. I'll bet one had to go to school to learn how to drive it.
~
Best in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.