litl hikes

By litl

Cleabarrow Tarn

With rain forecast for the afternoon and being very short on exercise in recent days I had a plan for an early, short, level walk not far from Windermere that would pass two tarns.

I parked on the roadside near Cleabarrow Tarn (the anglers had kindly left the muddy space). Photographing Cleabarrow was difficult and I left it until the end of the walk. When I got to the second tarn (unnamed) where the red arrow is on the map in extras it was just bog. It’s top left in the first extra.

The lack of water was made up for by the wild flowers in the field on the other side of the track . . . . Pignut, Cowslip, Bugle and Orchid. On the way back species I noticed included Cow Parsley, Garlic Mustard (Jack-by-the hedge), Cuckoo Flower, Bluebell, Stitchwort, Ivy Leaved Toadflax, Wild Poppy, Herb Robert and Comfrey. Some are shown in the extra.



Tarnbagging #13 - Cleabarrow Tarn

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.