Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Mint Moth #1

I didn't go to bed last night until after midnight which is very late for me. Consequently, I slept much later than normal and didn't wake until almost 9am! 
After a shift at the Butterfly House, this time pulling up weeds and sweeping paths, I came home and had a walk around my own garden, something I do at least once per day when we are at home :)
I love seeing what's come up overnight, or what's about to bloom, and of course I have my seed babies to look after as well in the greenhouse. 
I spotted this teeny tiny little thing flying about near the herbs and as it settled, I realised that it was a mint moth. I managed a few shots before it headed over the fence to our neighbour's garden.  I had forgotten how tiny they are with a wingspan of up to 2cm only - quite difficult to photograph. 
After a quick lunch I spent the rest of the afternoon in the garden, planting out more plant babies and weeding. I was given a clump of nicotiana seedlings by my neighbour that needed pricking out, so I swapped them for a cucumber plant that is just about to flower. We have 6 of them and not enough room in the greenhouse for them all. I like sharing with my neighbour :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.