Teasel

By Teasel

Pile Lighthouse

I didn’t sleep very well as I was worried I would sleep in and that BB would sleep in and not make it to his exam in time.  I had set my alarm, but I kept waking up.  I made contact with BB at a sensible time, he messaged me back, so I knew he was awake.  I kept messaging him and eventually called him to wish him good luck. 
 
Both TT and I were weary after our late night (and my broken sleep).  We took it slowly, packed our stuff up and went in search of a picnic lunch.  In complete contrast to yesterday, it was a really lovely day with blue skies.  Once we had purchased lunch, we set off with no clear plan, but headed to Elcho Castle.  It was closed, as is the case with so many Historic Scotland properties.  We should have checked.  Never mind, we continued along the south side of the River Tay and stopped in Newburgh and had a wander along the coastal path.  Our next stop was Lindores Abbey Distillery.  We had a quick look in the shop, but no purchases were made. Notes were made for another time.  We continued on our way, and our next stop was in Balmerino.  We visited the ruined abbey and went for a  circular walk around the hamlets.  It was lovely.  So nice to be out in the sunshine, with lovely views up and down the Tay.   We then continued our journey along the Tay, eventually stopping in a reasonable spot for a late lunch, then ending our journey in Tayport, where we had a wander around the harbour area.  We then thought it was time to  head home to see BB, and make sure he was OK.  He had told us the exam was ok – which is about as good as it gets for him.
 
It was very warm and sunny on our homeward journey – it would have been such a great day for a wedding.   BB was out with R when we got home.  TT decided to cut the grass.  BB didn’t say much more about his exam, he’s already moved on to thinking about  the next one, which is later in the week.
 
I pottered about then later decided to go for a wander in the evening sunshine. 
 
This is the pile lighthouse in the Tay estuary, off Tayport.  An interesting structure, which hasn't been used since the 1960s.

The extras are a view down river from Newburgh, the Tay road bridge and Broughty Ferry Castle across the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.