Cosy Old Cardigan

By Stacebob

Turtle Power!

Today, I got to meet my heroes, and they were totally f**king rad. The Turtles franchise means a whole lot to me; long story shortish, the '87 show made me feel like less of a total weirdo as a kid, taught me that smart nerds can also be badass, and gave me something to relate to other kids at school with, and today I got to meet the voices behind all 4 Turtles. This was A Big Deal, folks. I was a little bundle of excitement-anxiety but I needn't have been, because they were all wonderfully welcoming, top notch, lovely guys. Townsend (Mikey) and Rob (Raph) gave me a hug (the willpower it took not to happy-cry, good heavens), all 4 shook my hand, signed my DVD and action figures, and were genuinely delightful to chat with. Couldn't have asked for a better experience, really, except that the con had not advertised that you could pay for selfies at the table, otherwise you better believe I'd have taken extra money and had a snap with all of them! Closest I got was the shot taken by the con organiser at the end of the very enjoyable panel they did (see extra; you can see Kie and I towards the middle of the crowd, in the last row of seated folks). Brilliant, brilliant day; I might be a tired little disaster now but it was well worth it! Turtle Power!

Got home and ordered a pizza cos it just felt right, you know?! XD

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.