Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Aussie beaut

Another dry day - with intermittent sunshine.  I've spent most of it out in the garden, trying to pull as much bittercress as possible before it sets seed. I'm only just in time, as once or twice I heard the 'flick' as some of the seed exploded! 

I did the steep bank first, on my hands and knees and wearing knee pads, then the drive bed. I filled a compost bag, but am already regretting it - my knees are protesting violently! Still, I've hopefully reduced the chances of more seedlings. Now all I have to do is to dig out the 50 million celandines which came in with a free load of soil. OK, there's no such thing as a free load!

It got pretty warm towards the end of the afternoon, so once again, I put the chairs out, made a cuppa, and sat down with a book. Of course the dark clouds soon filled the sky!

So not having left the garden today my Blip has to be a plant. This is Grevillea rosmarinifolia, a native of SE Australia. It seems pretty hardy here and I had a large plant outside my house at Arduaine. The flower in my picture is less than an inch across. It's still in a pot, and is my extra today too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.