TrishaR

By TrishaR

Sunday in Avila

We had a lazy morning, skipped breakfast and had breakfast/lunch at a local restaurant called Soul Kitchen. It didnt start serving till 1:30 though so we wandered around the plaza and went into a patisserie shop and of course had to sample one of their specialities! So good. We were a bit concerned that Avila would be like Cuenca was last Sunday (nothing opened) but no, Avila was buzzing with families walking everywhere. Restaurants all open catering for large groups for lunch. Our hotel had a big party going on for a confirmation thing for the youngsters. Lots of partying there!

For lunch I had the Spanish version of ham egg and chips for my lunch and it was dam good! So tasty.

We then too a walk round the walls and over and up to a viewpoint where you can see the old town. It’s another UNESCO site and no wonder. I’m sure I’ve seen somewhere saying the best preserved city walls in Europe. But don’t quote me. It was lovely and peaceful at this viewpoint till two buses stopped and loads converged for photos. It was interesting watching them!

We walked back to the hotel for a cuppa and then out again this time walking round the upper part of the walls. You can’t walk right round the top but almost. It’s all very well done. We stumbled upon a parade for Saint Teresa. A band followed by men very well dressed and looking like the mafia carrying a decorated doll with black hair . They take it very seriously and it was mobbed.

Later on We stopped off at the Cafe part of our hotel. If you buy a drink you get a tapas and S had a salmon something and I ordered a bowl of fresh fruit. I do miss some aspects of my diet at home.

I was shattered (again) but I woke at 1:30 and couldn’t get back to sleep . We are up and away early tomorrow as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.