TrishaR

By TrishaR

Salamanca

Avila is 1.5 hours on the train to Salamanca, which we decided to visit, seeing we are in this part of Spain. It was an early start, the train was at 9:08 and a 20 min walk from our hotel in the old part of Avila with the train station downhill in the new part.

I was so hungry after arriving as had no breakfast and nothing much to eat apart from a bowl of fruit since the lunchtime the day before! We found a cafe and had a croissant and coffee and then off we went exploring. All I can say is WOW! the Plaza Mayor is beautiful and huge built in Spanish baroque style and widely regarded as one of the most beautiful in Spain. Stunning.

Then We walked on to the Cathedral (there are two) both with such beautiful exteriors. We sat on the steps overlooking one of them and listened to a busker playing the Spanish guitar. I felt so chilled. We went inside the House of shells - more beauty. Then we wandered down to the old bridge and walked alongside it (where the photo was taken).

One of the things I really wanted to visit inside was Casa Lis the Art Nouveau and Art Deco Museum. It was just amazing , the building, the collections, the ceiling, just beautiful.

We then went for lunch and I had a plate of grilled vegetables and S had a vegetable risotto both extremely tasty. I’ve missed my veg.

We had an hour left to wander and get an ice cream before getting the train back to Avila at 4:45. I must say Salamanca exceeded expectations and so glad we went.

I got some cherries and bananas on the walk up to the hotel. The fruit is so much cheaper here. I had a large bag of loose cherries for €1.50 - and they were sweet and plump.

Arrived at hotel and kinda flaked. Made a cuppa and lay on the bed and tried to keep eyes open….

I managed but was asleep by 10pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.