David J. Rose

By djrose007

Loquat fruit?

Because we've never had fruit from the Loquat tree I'm not really sure what these things are that are dropping off in the dozens, they are only about 1 inch long. They do not look like the beginning of the fruit, which I've eaten (see below), and also there are no other's that I know of in the area so no pollination taking place.
I've tried to find them on the internet but only getting the fruit. This link shows the fruit and the seeds inside, just as I found them when I ate the fruit.

The story is;
I was despatched to Beirut, Lebanon, in 1995 which is 5 years after the civil war, of which there was much evidence still showing. The task was to teach the engineers of our distributor the installation and maintenance of one of our smaller systems (Nortel Networks Option 11C for any techy's out there). It only takes a week as they are experienced on our larger systems.
When I arrived at my excellent and luxurious hotel, Al Bustan, Beirut, I found a bowl of fruit in the room. Amongst the fruit was the Loquat. I ate the delicious fruit and kept the seeds. When I got home my father planted them in his greenhouse and the tree in our garden is the surviving Loquat which, of course, we refer to it as 'The Beirut Tree'.

Couple of stories of that week.
SHOOTING
The hotel, located in Beit Mary on top of the mountain, overlooks East and West Beirut. I arrived, from Cairo, on the Saturday. Sunday morning I was to be picked up and taken to a hotel, in the city, where the training would take place. Before getting picked up I wrote a letter to Marlane telling her I'd arrived, and then shooting started in the East. It quickly spread across the region until I could hear sporadic shooting right across Beirut. I wrote that maybe the fighting was starting again and I hoped it didn't close the airport or I'd be stuck. When my driver arrived he seemed unperturbed so I asked him about the shooting. "Oh, it's Sunday, people go out hunting on a Sunday"!!!! All was well as we were stopped at 2 Syrian Army checkpoints and, entering the city itself, stopped again by Lebanese troops to check I wasn't being kidnapped.

HEZBOLLAH
One day my driver rang and said he'd be a little late picking me up, we went out in the evenings for dinner and entertainment. So I killed some time walking around the village. My Arabic was enough to greet people, buy postcards and stamps, and exchange pleasantries.
When I was picked up I told the driver about my walk, he was horrified!
"Don't you know this village is the headquarters of Hezbollah in Lebanon?". Of course I didn't know that but I always go on the premise that you get treated as you treat others and I hadn't felt threatened at all.
It wasn't fair on him though, he was responsible for my safety so I did apologise to him for being thoughtless.

BOARDING PASS
On leaving, at the end of the week, I was asked at the departure gate for a US$25.00 fee, which I wasn't expecting. I'd spent all of my dollars and offered UK£'s, travellers cheques, AMEX card, all no good, it had to be $'s and in cash.
I went back to the Turkish Airline check in clerk (No British airlines in Beirut at that time) who asked me to hand over my boarding pass. He did something and gave me a new one assuring me that it would not be a problem.
On presenting my boarding pass the policeman on the departure gate saluted me and wished me a safe journey. 
The Turkish Airline clerk had made my boarding pass a diplomatic pass!! Later in my career with Nortel Networks I made regular trips to Istanbul and always found the Turks very friendly and hospitable, lovely people.

What a great job that was  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.