Dull twinned with Boring

Are they taking the mickey? I’m convinced this must be to put tourists off. 

The drive in to Aberfeldy along Loch Tay was stunning and I found my car park easily, had a quick turnaround into bike gear and was off for a 30 mile circuit taking in Kenmore Hill. I wasn’t sure how tough it would be because Simon Warren describes it as savage, demanding, wicked (not in a good way) and brutal. I’ve learnt to take his descriptions with a pinch of salt, otherwise it can get in your head. I know I can if I’m on form. 

I’d given myself a six mile warm up, past Dull and to the beautiful village of Kenmore. That’s right where it began. Right uphill!

But it was OK. Tough but acceptable, although it did keep going for a while - I know these descriptions wouldn’t sell a book but they’re more realistic! But the best was yet to come. The road leads high up into the most tremendous mountain scenery. When I finally reached the top, 40 minutes later (Queenie has halved my time!), what had spotted me but a short-eared owl.  It was flying away, but I was fairly certain - moreso when I stopped for a photo just over the summit and there was another sitting on a fence post! We locked eyes for some time, neither of us daring to look away. Long enough to carefully take a photo and swap to my iPhone ready for a video. I was about to take off myself but eventually it had had enough and left me in awe. Two red kites and two buzzards all around me made it pretty special indeed. 

And that wasn’t all. It was a great descent into a lush high valley which took a spectacular loop eventually dropping back right into Aberfeldy. 

Diablo toastie, soup, yoghurt and a 90-minute drive and I’ve reached my next destination, Aviemore. The temperature has warmed up to 19 degrees and I’m hoping to be just east of the rain for a bit of a rest and wildlife wander tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.