WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Wildlife Day

I’m hoping to fit a few more rides in so I figured a rest day was in order. I left the hut and drove to Loch Garten. I then mooched - probably slower than Little Dog now goes but about four times as far - and not far at that! Along the roadside path, I heard a woodpecker and finally found him, unexpectedly at ground level along with a mistle thrush.

The wardens told me where I might see certain things so in a quiet spot in the woods, I took my iPhone out to find out what a crested tit sounded like. I was quite surprised to hear it still playing after I finished - it seems I set them off! But could I spot them?! I’m fairly certain I heard the crossbills but they were equally elusive (lots of chaffinches pretending though). Cuckoo… same. I was glad of a fallen log to sit on when I reached the other loch. I curled my back into a welcome stretch for a while and headed on back. 

The return was, thankfully, more interesting. I heard a singing bird that I didn’t recognise and eventually found this redstart in the treetops. Some beautiful reflections, a common sandpiper and a goldeneye later and I was back at the van.

I went into the hut to sign out and checked whether to switch the main electrics off by seeing if anyone was left in the hut. I hadn’t spotted their names yesterday but two people were there that I knew… and they hadn’t signed out yet! So, when their car arrived back from their outing, I leapt out of the van to say hello. I haven’t seen either of them for a very long time so it was lovely to see some friendly faces. I realised too how arthritis has curtailed my mountain days early as these guys are 15 years older and still stomping. Made me doubly glad I can bike hills instead.

Back to the van for route planning and stretching and now an early night for, hopefully, an early start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.