Marking Time

By Libra

Too old to learn?

Having taught myself to swim many years ago I decided, late in life, to get proper instruction.
And what better place to learn than in the Olympic size pool of Stirling University with one of their trainers? 
They run regular blocks of swimming instruction and today I had my third lesson. Lets say there are a lot of incorrect techniques to deal with.
 
The whole ambience of the place encourages you to do your best (see extra) and there is something about being surrounded by swimmers who are better than yourself that drags you along. Even someone like myself who is not in the least competitive (if you win someone has to loose and that makes me feel bad) suddenly has a desire to improve.

Have you ever decided to learn or mprove a new skill in later life?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.