Modern or New?

I commented to John as we drove back from Kathy's this morning, that I thought 'modern' is not the same thing as 'new', especially when it comes to architecture and art. I don't know If this is right, but in my mind, something that is 'timeless' could also be defined as modern.

We have had this little Inuit soapstone seal which John brought back from a trip to Canada many years ago. She is hardly new, but I think her smooth curves and minimalist shape are quite modern. I love the way the artist has made use of the changes of color in the rock.

For some reason, the arthritis which has been fairly quietly lurking in my body for a long time is finally making its presence known in a painful and disabling way. My knee is still painful at times which I can't really predict, and now a joint in my thumb and wrist is making doing anything requiring an opposable thumb almost impossible. I am somewhat ambidextrous, but as I have always said, I'm equally incompetent with either hand. I'm trying not to take ibuprophen as it is hard on the liver and acetaminophen is useless against inflammation. Good old aspirin helps, but it is a blood thinner, and coupled with thin skin, can cause the slightest bump or graze to turn into a lurid purple bruise that makes me look as if I have been assaulted.

John has had surgery on his hands for DuPutryns contracture, and I have had surgery on both feet for various reasons. We used to have semi-serious conversations about whether it was worse to be without the use of a hand or the use of a foot. The question was never resolved and now it seems to have come full circle back to me to resolve it. 

I think wine is probably a pretty good analgesic....it may be hard on the liver but at least it is more fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.