WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

More blue Skyfall

Driving round to the top of the Glencoe valley, I encountered road resurfacing. It went on for about a mile, on and off, so I changed my plan en route to the start. Instead of ticking the Glen Etive hill (which means only descending about a third of it (I was having trouble justifying that)) and the Great Glen, I decided instead to just cycle the whole of 007's Glen Etive. At this time in the morning, it shouldn’t be too busy.

I descended the valley to more amazing blue skies, heard more cuckoos, watched a hare scamper up the hillside and enjoyed the scent of the gorse underneath the high mountains. 

It was still. It was stunning. This was the right choice!

I waved at a couple of motorcycle campers about halfway down and eventually reached a loch, which I had remembered was a bit of an anti-climax. But, safe in the knowledge I was retracing my wheels, I thoroughly enjoyed a gradual ascent back up the valley which was now warm enough to be in just short sleeves.

I blasted music and sang all the way down the motorway before a quiet potter into Patterdale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.