WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Struggles

This photo is the official one but my ride started heading over the Kirkstone Pass, a direction I’ve not ridden before. I cycled the opposite way for a mile to give my muscles chance to warm up a bit. There was also a third struggle - probably the worst one!

When I woke up this morning there was low cloud - I imagine an inversion on the tops -but I wasn’t under any time pressures; it was a short ride and I’m staying put tonight. By the time I got on my way, the blue sky was out in full force.

Half way up the Kirkstone Pass, there were roadworks but I managed to dawdle enough to catch them changing to green (of course, I continued to dawdle - that was just an excuse!) 

I stopped to take this photo at the top as i would be heading back over this hill on my way back to complete the loop. I focused on what looks like that flat section in the middle rather than my vague knowledge of an epic drive up in the old van - oh yes, and that 20% sign - best not to dwell!

For now, I took the road left to descend. It was lovely - but then I hit struggle number two - everyone driving into Ambleside - it took forever as there was so little room for overtaking. By the time I arrived there, the thought of having lunch in the masses was not high on my agenda so I sat on a wall, ate a bar and got out of there. 

So, The official Struggle…. In comparison, a joy! I continued to dawdle not dwell and even surprised myself with a gear spare early on. I soon rectified that and enjoyed a beautiful, fairly quiet route back to the pass… with yet another cuckoo - have they followed me?!

Passing the pub on the way down, I had visions of a burger as good as the one near Applecross so I got showered and sorted and walked the mile or so to sadly find no food 'til 5.30. Crisps and a pint of orange juice and lemonade sufficed and I walked back enjoying the bugs and butterflies by Brothers Water. Toastie time! I’m tempted to make another but maybe I’ll just start on dinner!

The loveliest of coincidences has also happened. I noticed an extra car at the hut when I cycled in and noted it looked similar to the one my old friends were in in Aviemore. I thought no more of it until I spotted a note tucked under my windscreen wipers. It is their car! Only one of them this time and we’ve had another good chat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.