Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Backblip

Fine weather so five of us walked up the road to the youth hostel and took the path up to the ridge.

I don't know if I was having an off day, was short of sleep because there were 6 in the room or whether I just set off too fast. Whatever the answer, after less than an hour I knew that I wasn't going to be able to reach the ridge and do the grade 3 scramble that was planned. Bother! But there's no sense in ignoring your body, and I was the oldest by a good way and had been hillwalking for the least number of years i.e. only 9, not that I'm making excuses for myself... oh well okay perhaps I am!

We'd reached the point where we had to cross the stream, my footwear wasn't waterproof  (a recurring theme here) and I didn't want to spend the day with wet feet into the bargain. I said goodbye, walked back to the hut and here they are waving me off.

I ate my lunch, by which time the three members who knew they weren't capable of the scramble had returned from walking up to the Fairy Pools. Sue had a nap - she naps most days although is a couple of years younger than me - and then we walked down to the beach, see extra, and explored a bit before having a cuppa in the campsite café. 

It was my turn to cook dinner for Fi and myself, and luckily the scramblers returned before I'd got very far with it. Apparently there had been a disagreement about the way so they'd scrambled up to the ridge and come back down via Sgurr Thuilm, instead of completing a horseshoe. Two of the party had been in the Cuillin before, the other two not, but it sounds like a jumble up there anyway!

5.28 miles
577 feet elevation gain 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.