A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Lewis

I was cozy in bed when I received a text from our neighbor that their young cat, Lewis, had run across the street into our yard and disappeared over the banking • Lewis was born in Florida last Fall and recently traveled to Maine in a van for three days. He’s not only young but new to the area. MrsP had just let Newt outside, our once feral cat, whose morning routine is to exit the back door, then come in the front door a few minutes later for breakfast. All this before she retires to her all-day nap on the couch • Anyway, I flew out of bed, quickly dressed, then headed outside to retrieve Newt before looking for Lewis. She hadn’t yet made it around the house so I scooped her up and put her back inside. I wandered all around looking and calling for a cat I’ve never seen. Shortly after my text that I didn’t find Lewis, I got one back saying he had returned home safe and sound • This is the second search party for Lewis in less than a week. It’s very concerning. We’re afraid he won’t survive the summer because of his owners. Hopefully our fears are unfounded • This is our female hummer enjoying her afternoon tea :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.