Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sparks Flew

We arrived in the Talamanca region of Costa Rica late this morning and were greeted with swarms of stunning hummingbirds.  We are at 8,500 feet above sea level where the air is thin and the temps are cool, bordering on cold.  You wouldn't think there would be so many hummers here!

The last time I was here, I did not get any usable photos of the brilliant Fiery-throated Hummingbird, something I've regretted ever since.  Well, today it seemed like every other hummer was a fiery-throated.  I was with one of my traveling companions, enjoying the high speed chases and constant trash talk of the various hummingbirds.  I spotted a fiery throated hummer perched and was just focusing in on it when a second bird entered the picture ... and the entire affair quickly became X rated!  I managed to let Mary know to re-aim her lens while all the time firing rapid bursts of the event.  I have to give props to the mail who re-positioned several times and never stopped talking.  As you can see, there is no difference in the plumage between male and female - and both have brilliant patches of "fire" at their throats.  I couldn't be more thrilled!

After lunch, we headed to a local spot where there is an active Resplendent Quetzal nest and set up tripods and long lenses.  It was a long wait, but we eventually got images of both the male and female flying into the nest.  The ISO was ridiculously high, but I got some shots that I am pleased with.  I think Osuzanna will most likely post one, and perhaps Hillyblips will do the same so be sure to check.  They are headed back very early tomorrow morning, while I have opted to stay at the lodge and shoot hummers.  

This particular lodge is perhaps one of my favorite places in the world - there is something absolutely magical about our little cabins overlooking the rainforest below.  I will come back shortly and put an iPhone shot in Extra of the view from my front door.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.