Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Some progress

This morning the OT phoned. Apparently she turned her phone off when she finished and even though I replied to her text right away she didn't let me know what wasn't happening.

This morning she wanted to book to come and trial the mini lift (which was what she's ordered but not what was delivered). I asked when the bed and chair were being moved and she said she hadn't booked it. I said well there's not much to test with the hoist then. So she then did arrange for the bed move, but they didn't know it was the chair so only one person came and they needed two, plus Mr T was still in the bed as the OT hadn't arrived. I asked Jo this morning to help slide Mr T up the bed, and she came for an M&S Posh Dog in a co-ordinating posh dog bap for lunch. She was still here when the chap arrived so we were able to get Mr T up and in the chair. The bed was downstairs when the OT arrived so I showed them how I get Mr T downstairs. Bless him he gave a faultless demonstration. Really good getting onto the stair lift, and not bad getting off. Initially good with the hoist (once the OT worked out how to use it) but then got tired and they had the same problem I was having with the Stedy paddles, and then the hoist wasn't comfortable for Mr T as the belt kept slipping up into his arm pits. So they are ordering a different hoist. The mini lift that they first asked for as it has a different harness. They are also going to order a riser commode.

I wanted the bed to face out not be tucked away. Pros and cons to that as it gives Mr T some privacy and I could get a dressing screen for it. If it is rotated 90 degrees it sticks out maybe too far for the equipment so until they work out what works it's there for now. Have to click go on Mr T's blip at the same time.

I managed to get some of the furniture upstairs (my desk, chair and part of the sofa, and bookcases). It feels quite weird. Mr T was so tired after all the hoisting that he then was doing exactly as I had described when he's tired, not lifting his feet or being able to carry out the necessary tasks. It was good that they saw that as they knew the solution had to account for that.

It is a bit messy still but nice to have my desk and art and music room upstairs. Also nice to be downstairs with Mr T. Even though he's asleep it still feels nicer than being on different floors. I'm not sure how it will feel when I go up to bed.

I managed to have a chat with my sister today and chat a few things over which was helpful. I did miss the ConnectED project one year celebration today which was a shame. As a precaution I sent my slideshow and made an audio recording last night.

Jo has swapped her afternoon to Friday this week so I can still have a break. She has been so helpful and a real boon the last week or so. She loves roses so I think I shall get her either a rose bush or a nice bouquet of roses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.